Early Years


Early Years Foundation Stage: Nursery and Reception from 2 to 5 years

The curriculum taught in the Nursery and Reception meets the requirements as set out in the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. 

Our curriculum planning uses the 'Development Matters' targets set out in EYFS, culminating in the Early Learning Goals. 

EYFS is divided into the three prime and four specific learning areas:

Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

These underpin effective practice in the delivery of the EYFS and curriculum planning.

We support fully the principle that children learn through play by engaging in well planned structured activities. 

Teaching in the Reception Class builds on the experience of the children in their Nursery environment.  Pupils are continually monitored throughout EYFS and the Early Years Foundation Profile is completed at the end of the Reception phase to show the children have made progress and to provide predictors for the beginning of Key Stage 1.

Updated September 2017